Life of Pi - Yann Martel

Maureen

I'm not very good at reviewing, and I hope other people will make a better job of this, but this is my 2c worth!

The story is narrated in the 1st person by Pi, now an adult, to the writer. It happened when Pi was a 16 yr old boy and he was trying to get to Canada aboard a cargo ship. He was with his family and as they were the owners of a zoo, some of their animals were travelling with them. Unfortunately the ship sank, and every one aboard drowned except for Pi, a hyena, a zebra, an orang-utan and a huge Bengal tiger.

The story is extraordinary, the author has done an amazing job of making me picture the turn of events very vividly. At times I found myself reading while almost holding my breath, at other full of pity, surprise or despair. I also learnt some stuff I hope I will never need.

Every time I'm on our little boat at sea, I will surely remember this book!

hiya

I have nominated this as the October Read - I think its one of those rare books that will be a classic and one which I think everyone should read!:lol:

I thought it was an extraodinary read - did you think Pi was telling the true story or not?!

As you say at times i held my breath too . i loved this book , will treasure it and one i will no doubt read again

kayx

Agree with you both, it's a fascinating little book

I must be a bit dim though as

I didn't realise that 'Mr Whatever his name was' (read it a while ago and can't remember the name) was the tiger. Doh!

Oh yes, I read it quite a while ago now and still parts of it remain with me

It's been a while for me too, but if I remember anything, it was a contradiction between what Pi told about the events and what the rescuers considered likely to have happened.

Oh i see. Sorry about that. well.......