A book blog by Books do Furnish a Room

I've never done a blog before; here goes; I want to record what I've read and how I feel about it. I read avidly when young, often to escape the world and finds worlds different and more humane. The habit stuck and over the years has waxed and waned. Some of what I have read is academic course related and some job related, but mostly fiction.

I read a lot of religious books for a number of years, but that has changed and now I read more or less anything. I have accumulated many books and I am making an effort to read them. The death of my mother two years ago was something of a catalyst in setting off my current more organised reading; so many books so little time. :readingtwo:

This is what I am reading at the moment;

Vanity Fair; Thackeray

White Teeth; Zadie Smith

Anthony Burgess; Roger Lewis

The Elephant Keeper; Christopher Nicholson

A Group of Noble Dames; Thomas Hardy

War and Peace; Tolstoy

The Resurrectionist; James Bradley

The Brutal Art; Jesse Kellerman

I try to read a little of each every day; sometimes a particular book will take over.

I have just finished "A Case of Exploding Mangoes" by Mohammed Hanif

It was a good read and reminded me of Catch 22; set in the Pakistan Army. It contains a well hidden love story between 2 cadets, but there are lots of comic moments with some completely bonkers characters. A well drawn satire on military life and dictatorships in general.

Reading is a very personal thing; I don't know if anyone will ever read this. Even if they do not I think expressing and explaining how a book has affected me will be helpful. Early this year I found a site called Bookarmy and on there you can record nall the books you have ever read. I found trying to remember all I have read difficult (it gets more difficult as you get older)but immensely interesting as I recalled books and authors I had long forgotten.

I'm rambling on as usual; time to go back to real life!!