David Mitchell's - De Zoet

mrj217

Hi- I'm new to this game -here we go - I'm a D Mitchell reader (hate the word fan - more appropriate for sports) and I looked forward to The Thousand autumns of Jacob de Zoet - but ultimately I think the book finishes weakly after a strong start.I'd like to discuss this more -but need someone to to discuss with - is anyone there?

Hi mrj217 :) Yes, I thought the ending was weak. The detail was so rich at the start and tapered off somewhat towards the end. There was a very romantic plot involved also, I think the ending could have been a bit more dramatic because of this? Then again, this story is very much immersed in history with the Dutch East India company.. Dejima etc, and he probably wanted to keep it grounded, to make his own account of history that could be true.

The end also seemed a little bit rushed, which I didn't find with the other two of his novels I've read. That's the only complaint I have though. To be fair I couldn't put it down, he's an amazing writer.

Eliza1 - Mitchell began to lose me with the Midwife in the wierd nunnery plot. There was the exciting escape scene ,only to be followed by the shock that Orito had voluntarily returned to captivity ! I felt that the author was so proud of the escape scene that he had to keep that in the novel despite the story needing Orito to remain in the nunnery.

I did think the chapters concerning the English attack on Dejima resounded well.He was good on the Japanese culture as well.

Good to read you agreed with me on the ending.

And yes he is an amazing writer.

I'm afraid I've put it aside for now as well. I absolutely loved the first chapter, and really, bought on the strength of same. Naturally it turned in another direction in Chapter 2. :doh:

I'll pick it up again, I do like Mitchell's writing, but not just yet.