Turning Japanese

Between Haruki Murakami and Studio Ghibli I've started to get quite interested in Japan, so does anyone have any recommendations for books about or featuring the country?

I'm pretty much looking for any good reads related to the country so novels, history, travel and cultural books all are fair game.

James Clavell's 'Shogun' is a dense but really enthralling read.

I also would throw in a favourite read of mine, 'Neuromancer' by William Gibson. :lol: It may be considered a stretch of sorts but I wanna throw it out there anyway!

^ I've been toying with buying Shogun for a few years now, but in all honesty I've put it back on more than one occasion because of it's length! I really need to bite the bullet, or in this case sword!

What is the Japan connection in Neuromancer?

Hi Raven ~

The Sound of Waves by Yukio Mishima ~

Set in a remote fishing village in Japan, this is a story of first love. Shinji is entranced at the sight of Hatsue in the twilight on the beach, upon her return from another island, where she had been training to be a pearl diver. They fall in love, but then endure the calumny and gossip of the villagers.

The Makioka Sisters by Jun'ichiro Tanizaki and Edward G. Seidensticker ~

Tanizaki's masterpiece is the story of four sisters, and the declining fortunes of a traditional Japanese family. It is a loving and nostalgic recreation of the sumptuous, intricate upper-class life of Osaka immediately before World War Two. With surgical precision, Tanizaki lays bare the sinews of pride, and brings a vanished era to vibrant life.

In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami ~

American tourist Frank hires nightlife guide Kenji for three nights. But his behaviour is so odd that Kenji begins to suspect that his client is the serial killer terrorizing Tokyo. It isn't until the second night that Kenji learns exactly how much he has to fear from this enormous American.