Jump to content
  • Announcements

    • Hayley

      Something Wicked This Way Comes...   10/09/2019

      The Autumn Supporter Giveaway!       Welcome to the very first of the seasonal BCF supporter giveaways! This month also marks one year since I took on the forum, so I want to say an extra huge thank you to all of you for keeping this place going. I have a little bit more to say about that later but, for now, let's get to the giveaway!     The Autumn Giveaway winner will be getting two Penguin Little Black Classics, The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe and To Be Read At Dusk by Charles Dickens. Both of these little books contain three atmospheric short stories, perfect for autumnal evenings. The winner will also get Mary Shelley tea (a lavender and vanilla black tea) from Rosie Lea Tea's Literary Tea Collection (https://www.rosieleatea.co.uk/collections/literary-tea-collection) and a chocolate skull, to really get that spooky atmosphere .   and...   A special treat for a special month. The winner will choose one of the following recent paperback releases from the independent bookshop Big Green Bookshop:       The Wych Elm by Tana French A House of Ghosts by W.C. Ryan Melmoth by Sarah Perry The Familiars by Stacey Halls  The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White   The winner will be chosen via the usual random selection process in one week. Patreon supporters are entered automatically. If you aren't a patreon supporter but you'd like to join in with this giveaway, you can support here: https://www.patreon.com/bookclubforum.   I really hope you're all going to like this introduction to the seasonal giveaways. It's been a lot of fun to put together. Other chocolate skulls may have been harmed during the selection process…     
Sign in to follow this  
Susie

Looking for books similar to Kate Morton books

Recommended Posts

I loved House on Riverton and The Forgotten Garden.

 

Can anyone recommend an author who writes similar stories/books?

 

I cant wait until Mortons' next book comes out in November.

 

I should have said The House at Riverton.

 

Dont see a place to edit.

Edited by Janet

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I recently read "The Thirteenth Tale" by Diane Setterfield, not quite Kate Morton but I was impressed by it. You could also try "The Villa In Italy" by Elizabeth Edmondson.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think "Atonement" by Ian McEwen was so similar to "The House at Riverton" that it was quite spooky.

Edited by corina
Forgot something

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I second the recommendation of 'The Thirteenth Tale' by Setterfield, Susie. I loved that one! Spooky, and such a great story :tong:.

 

I haven't read any Morton yet, but I have House at Riverton on my TBR shelf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Chrissy, Linda Gillard looks right up my street, another book for my Amazon wish list, thankfully I have a birthday next month!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks Chrissy, Linda Gillard looks right up my street, another book for my Amazon wish list, thankfully I have a birthday next month!

Her writing is just so good! I should add that no one gives us a 'hero' like Linda, prepare to sigh, cry and laugh.

 

I am usually drawn to gritty crime, but my head was turned by these three. Chick lit she ain't. She also happens to be a member of the forum. :tong:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That book sounds great, Chrissy.

 

Suzie, a patient at work was reading Kate Moreton and said that if I liked her I would also like Diana Gabaldon, so maybe that is a suggestion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  



×