'Disneyfication' of Classic Literature

Hello everyone.

I am studying a Masters Course in Adaptation at De Montfort University, and have recently begun research for my dissertation. A rough title that I'm playing with at the moment is 'Disney adaptations and the cultural implications that the 'disneyfication' of fairytales has had on 20th and 21st century societies'. Obviously this will be narrowed down greatly by the time I come to writing the paper, but for now this is the title I am researching under.

As I want to really understand the wider implications of Disney's adaptations of classic literature, I wondered if any of you guys had any thoughts you wouldn't mind sharing with me- for my reference sake only if you would prefer I didn't quote any of you in my work!!!

For example, how do you feel about many characters from Classic Literature having come to be known as in the posession of Walt Disney? E.g "Disney's Snow White", "Disney's Cinderella". Do you feel that this is exploitation of the classics, or do you agree with some critics who claim that without Disney much of our 21st century youth would be completely unaware of the existance of these fairy tale legends who do not feature in their computer games and sci-fi tv programmes.

How do you feel about the fidelity, or indeed infidelity, of the Disney adaptations in comparison to the originals? Are they too sanitised perhaps? Or are they necessary adaptations to make a moral tale in order for the films to serve a purpose within the family unit?

I'd be really grateful for any feedback whatsoever!!

Basically, I've only read the original Little Mermaid and Hamlet, which inspired Lion King. I love almost all Disney films. There are people who complain about changing much the original and stuff, but they forget that most of the time the original material is not appropriate for younger viewers.