Ben Elton - The First Casualty

Janet

Firstly, apologies if this has been reviewed before. I did search, but couldn't see it. Secondly, apologies that this is not a very in-depth review, but I've never written one before, and although I looked at the guide posted at the top of this forum, I felt a bit out of my depth trying to follow it! Anyway, here goes:

The First Casualty by Ben Elton

This is Ben Elton

Excellent review, Janet. I've been eyeing this one up for a little while & I think I may well get it now. I've read quite a few of Ben Elton's other books & they'er all satirical novels, which I've enjoyed on the whole, but I think this sounds like a welcome departure from his usual style.

I look forward to reading more of your reviews in the future! :lol:

• 1 year later...

Little did I know when I read and reviewed this in June 2006 that I'd be studying WW1 literature and poetry for A level English Lit two years later!

I must dig it out and look for some useful quotes to learn!

I wish WWI poetry had been on the menu when I was at school...instead it was Shakespeare. In fact, I like Shakespeare but his plays were picked to bits and stopped me enjoying them for many years afterwards. Still, I suppose the same could have happened to Wilfred Owen's work if we'd studied that. I'd be Shakespeare-mad and only just beginning to get back to the wartime poets instead of the other way around.

We're doing Shakespeare too!

I didn't study Shakespeare when I was at school (a long, long time ago! :welcome2: ) or WW1 poetry.

I'm loving both - I think perhaps age helps? Wilfred Owen is fantastic and I also like Sassoon - but also a lot of the other, less well-known, poets. :D

I liked this. I also liked Blast from the Past which was set partly at Greenham Common, but Stark stands out as his best. I'm afraid I'm not too PC and all the green stuff might irritate me now, but it was his debut and read like one of his stage tirades.