Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hi I'm new here, so I apologise if I'm not doing this right.

 

I'm 22 going on 23, male and British.

 

I'm looking to start a new book series, but the internet is vast and I'm struggling to find what I'm after.

 

I like fantasy (sci-fi, dystopian, thriller) and am looking for something of that ilk, but with a little more romance and sex than what I've read so far. And a bit more grit/depravity.

 

The last series I read was the Red Rising books by Pierce Brown, and whilst they were not perfect I really enjoyed the series, particularly the first one. Brown's universe definitely contained both love and sex, however these were often just alluded to or mentioned in passing. The story line was very good, as was the level of fantasy. It is the type of thing I'm looking for. However, whilst the male protagonist's (Darrow) feelings of love were described, and sex was mentioned and talked about, there was not enough description or focus on this. Darrow's character and his motivations were too heroic and he didn't make the most of the situation he was in. There was not enough grit to the book in general.

 

In my teens I read the Churb series and enjoyed it a lot. It was a true young adult series, think Alex Rider (also enjoyed) but with PG13 love and sex. A bit more lighthearted than Alex Rider and a bit more basic in the writing. I want something like Cherub but darker, more descriptive and more complex in both story and literature. Older basically.

 

I'm not going to describe every books/series I've read, so I'll just list all the ones I can remember with a note or two after;

(It'll become obvious I don't read much any more and these are mainly books from my teens)

 

- Red Rising (Pierce Brown); see above. Good story and idea, not enough sex.

- Cherub (Robert Muchamore); see above. Aimed at a younger audience than me.

- Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling); obviously brilliant, not enough love and no sex.

- Power of Five (Anthony Horowitz); don't really remember much about it, but it was good. Little love, no sex.

- Twilight (Stephenie Meyer); erm... yeah, not completely unenjoyable. Too 'nice' and sweet, not particularly well written. Not enough sexual description and far too much wallowing in feelings and emotions and not enough about the story line, such as it was.

- The Hobbit & LOTR (J.R.R. Tolkien); not what I'm after, just great fantasy.

- Alex Rider (Anthony Horowitz); a teenage spy in his position would have had a lot more sexual experiences and love interests, and I wanted to hear about them. Enjoyed the series until it started to drag on.

- Candy (Kevin Brooks); Has the drugs and darker side to it. Enjoyed it and other books by Kevin Brooks. Has an acceptable focus on love with not enough sexual description and not enough fantasy.

 

- It's So Easy (Duff Mckagan); Autobiography by the bass player of Guns N Roses. Obviously nothing like the type of thing I'm after. But it was very well written, and covers the drugs, sex and generally depraved lifestyle of a rock star. I want the book I read to be a bit more realistic and gritty. It's hard to explain but protagonists tend to be too noble and this is often unrealistic in my opinion. I like more of an anti-hero, although this is not a deal-breaker either way obviously.

 

- Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins); Haven't read this. Kind of world and story I'd enjoy, same old story of not enough sex from what I glean from the movies.

- Game of Thrones (George R.R. Martin); Haven't read this. LOVE the TV show. I would have watched the end of the TV show by the time I finished the books. It is perhaps a little too long and fantastical, but having not read it I can't judge.

 

I'm not looking for a Fifty Shades or Twilight, whose focus is on sex and love. I want a more love and sex focused, more grown-up version of the books I've read and enjoyed. I realise I've said I want more sex from a lot of the books I've mentioned, but that's only because the books I read were aimed at a younger audience than I am now. I want both sex and love, I want grit and the darker side we don't often hear about enough in such stories, I want fantasy and dystopia and humour.

 

I hope I've managed to convey what I want, and congratulations if you've made it this far! It got a bit rambly.

 

I'm open to any suggestion :)

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×