Sci Fi/ Adventure recommendations

Science fiction has a lot of genres and sub-genres, and one usually gravitates to the ones that fit their taste. For an absolute beginner, I would recommend a good "hard science fiction" book, like 2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke. As "hard" science fiction is more rooted in reality, it is easier for most people to come to grips with. Jumping straight in to the mind-bending "soft science fiction" tapestries of Ursula Le Guin or Harlan Ellison would be daunting. Others that might be interesting starting points would be the Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury, Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C Clarke, or Martian Race by Gregory Benford.

Come to think of it, Martian Race might be the best, considering that the series "Mars" is debuting on Nat Geo this season.

When he's ready to have his mind blown, there's a lot more to science fiction than just space travel.

Dune by Frank Herbert and Foundation by Isaac Asimov should be read by anyone, regardless if he's new to SF or a SF connoisseur. Some of Asimov's works are kind of outdated, especially given how we see robots today compared to 50-60 years ago but still they are excellent novels. 

Dune is kind of a space opera so it might tickle his fancy better. 

Science fiction has a lot of genres and sub-genres, and one usually gravitates to the ones that fit their taste. For an absolute beginner, I would recommend a good "hard science fiction" book, like 2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke. As "hard" science fiction is more rooted in reality, it is easier for most people to come to grips with. Jumping straight in to the mind-bending "soft science fiction" tapestries of Ursula Le Guin or Harlan Ellison would be daunting. Others that might be interesting starting points would be the Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury, Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C Clarke, or Martian Race by Gregory Benford.