*pulls up comfy chair*

yo-yo-dieter

Hello there.

I'm a newbie, as you may tell from my post count.

If anyone is a member on Read it Swap It, they may know me from there.

I found this website by typing "book forum" into Google, and this looked like one of the best and easiest to navigate and friendliest (can I stop creeping yet?)

I am 32, mum to 2 boys, work full time, spend too much money on clothes and my hobby is trawling car boot sales and charity shops and buying books (and reading them of course).

At the end of May I decided I'd had enough of books cluttering up the house and I had 400 on a TBR pile, so I gave them all away to a Girl Guides group for their coffee morning to sell to raise funds....then three months later I appear to have accumulated another sixty (gulp).

Currently trying to read at the moment: Blue Diary by Alice Hoffman, but it's not very exciting. I should be ploughing my way through it in order to start something good soon, instead of being on here, meeting new people...

Hello. Welcome to the forum. I'm sure you're going to enjoy it here - we're a friendly bunch. :smile2:

Do you have any favourite authors or genres?

Liz xx

I don't have any particular favourites - Jodi Picoult is always a good bet for an excellent read as is Jefferey Deaver. I like thrillers and fluffy chick-lit type books, things I don't have to think about too much. I also like autobiographies and true life stories, but not really ones that dwell on abused children, for example, I have never fancied reading 'a boy called it' but I enjoyed 'just a boy' by Richard McCann. Oh - and I also prefer my chick-lit books to be set in England (just a foible of mine)

Hello and welcome, I'm new here too but am enjoying it so far. I'm addicted to buying new books too, my TBR pile isn't quite as big as yours, but only because I carry handcuffs on me at all times to prevent myself entering bookshops and buying more stuff...:smile2: