I need a heart-break

I am new to reading and can merely name one or two authors. That's why I want to know about your authors.

Out of the novels I've read so far I am getting quite bored of the happy endings and I really need a heart-break. I try to search on web but the books I could find were classics like "Romeo & Juliet", "Of Mice and Men" and I want something more contemporary.

I have read Handle with Care by Jodi Picoult and One Day by David Nicholls and that's the kind of book I am looking for - my heart went very heavy through the last pages.

So do you have any suggestions on a novel you have read that made you cried, or almost did, on the last page? I welcome all authors as I think I am still in the searching stage. It not necessarily has to be a romance; it can be about a loss or a memoir of a family member, a life of failures, all kind of sadness.

wow thanks guys for your suggestions! I'm definitely going to read them :D

and in response to Hayley's message, Green Mile you recommended must be what I wanted because I just finished your another suggestion Atonement and I was down for a whole day when I learnt that Cecilia and Robbie were actually dead already.

anyway please keep on adding books to my to-read list! :D cheers

If you want sad endings I'm your girl :P I love sad endings (quite morbid really I guess lol) :o I find they tend to stay with you longer if it's not all perfect plus life isn't like that.

I too will second Me Before You. I guarantee you will cry.

Check my review out on it at http://www.bookclubforum.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/9948-me-before-you-by-jojo-moyes/page__hl__%2Bjojo+%2Bmoyes__fromsearch__1

Also anything by Nicholas Sparks (who wrote the notebook as mentioned above). He writes lovey dovey stuff that can be a little far fetched at times but are really good. They tend to have a sad ending. 7 of his books have been made into films. Including the Notebook (amazing film btw).